Superstition

Superstition: a widely held but unjustified belief in supernatural causation leading to certain consequences of an action or event, or a practice based on such a belief

The word superstition has always made me wary as I’ve grown up in a home that is against so-called supernatural things (aside from God, the big bro upstairs). The word has always had a negative connotation, in my mind, until I got older and realized I’m so superstitious it’s no where near being funny. I can pinpoint things I did in my childhood that were superstitious; Of course I didn’t realize it then with me avoiding anything that had to do with the word. I used to have this bracelet that I wore all the time and swore to my friends that it was my good luck charm and only good things could happen when I wore it. Every time I had a test, I wore it. Any time I was going to give a presentation, I wore it. Even days I spent being lazy in bed, I wore it. I didn’t feel complete without the ugly, yellowish thing.

As I’ve grown up, I’ve attached myself to more things I consider lucky. I can accept that I am superstitious with no problem as I’m in a place in life that constantly has me putting faith in superstitious practices. For instance, when I’m taking a test, I always answer at least 3 questions before writing my name on the paper. Another example is knocking on wood to make sure I don’t jinx myself or someone else if I say something negative. I think the lamest one I participate in is throwing ice in the toilet to make it snow the next day; Although that one has worked many times. These are small things that are probably insignificant to so many people but they are things that I just don’t want to let go of. Because of this, I tend to look at the superstitious nature of others as adorable actions that make that person unique. Some people are more superstitious of others and honestly it’s not a bad thing.

I think that superstitions are based in hope and faith. We put faith in some kind of higher power as we feel that certain things are out of our hands. We hope that our faith wasn’t in vain. I believe strongly in the superstitious practices that I participate in and always find other people or outside forces to blame when my goal isn’t accomplished. That’s the thing with superstitions, we can never seem to let them go when they let us down.

With a statement like that, its Gotta Be Eghosa!

Leave a Reply

